Jazzercise: mother daughter bonding 

All summer Mike and I’ve been trying to talk Liv into joining a sport when school starts.  Liv isn’t all that athletically inclined and 8th grade is the last year of no cut sports so we thought it would be a great time to try sports again. 

Friends, there were tears, glares, silent treatments and negotiations.  There was even a coin flip.  We narrowed it down to volley ball or cross country. 

More glares. 

So a compromise was made.  

If she joined me for Jazzercise then we would consider that a sport. 

I found a fantastic deal with no joining fee and no dues until October.  That’s 6 weeks free.  Also, a few years back I was a member at the local jazzercise gym so I know the owner and she made me an amazing mother daughter package. 

So yesterday was our firstday. 

I took a grumpy teen in her new school gym shoes (I had to bring out the big guns in negotiations) to an afternoon jazzercise class.  

We got all signed up and Emma’s best friends mom (Lives 5th grade teacher too) walks in, then our neighbors arrive.  Somehow having people skew knows made jazzercise became cool in my 13 year olds eyes. 

After an hour of shaking our groove things, she was smiling and making fun of my back sweat.  

Whatever it takes to make her smile with me even if it means I’m sweating buckets and looking a hot mess. 

Now I’m hurting in places on my body I didn’t even know existed.  But my legs feel fine.  Must be all that playground walking. 

So if you’re looking for a great mother daughter bonding activity I recommend jazzercise!

Yes, I spilled my coffee this morning. 

Have a great day!

-Heidi Jo

Leave a Reply

